Make your own free website on


Home - Poughkeepsie Newyorkers
Mission Statement/Core Values
Calendar of Events
Newyorker Times
Photo Gallery
50th Anniversary Memories
Rehearsal Notes
Contact Us

Newyorkers of the Year


The Joe Alber Memorial Newyorker of the Year is a Poughkeepsie, NY Chapter member who has exhibited sustained, unselfish service to the chapter, usually but not necessarily peaking in the award year.  He or she epitomizes the spirit of the Newyorkers by cheerfully assuming and discharging many chapter responsibilities resulting in the short and long term health and success of the chapter.  The award was founded by the 1972 Chapter President Joe Alber who, at his passing, was memorialized in it.

The 21stCentury

2016    Jack Ostmark

2015    Larry Rand

2014    Bill Booth

2013    Frank Ruggiero                                                   See How & WHY Frank Ruggiero was selected

2012    Mike Monkowski

2011    Rick Greenop           50th Anniv Yr of Chapter

2010    John Chisholm                                                    See How & WHY John Chisholm was selected

2009    Bill Florie                                                             See WHY Bill Florie was selected

2008    George Trigg                                                       See WHY George Trigg was selected

2007    Ron Pierson                                                        See WHY Ron Pierson was selected

2006    Steve Miller              45th Anniv Yr of Chapter   See WHY Steve Miller was selected

2005    Eric Dickstein

2004    Mike Murphy

2003    Bob Hitchcock

2002    Steve Hagerdon

2001    Dave Reynolds         40th Anniv Yr of Chapter

2000    Dick Schaffer


The 1990's

99    Bill Standish

98    Greg Howard

97    Garry “Butch” Ashdown

96    Ed “Duffy” Miller           35th Anniv Yr of Chapter

95    Frank Gould

94    Renée Silverstein

93    John Hadigan

92    Bob Tortorella

91    Tony Krzywicki             30th Anniv Yr of Chapter

90    Dan Driscoll


The 1980's

89    Jim Zeigler

88    Breck Martyn

87    Scott Salladin

86    Steve Siegele               25th   Anniv Yr of Chapter

85    Steve Plumb

84    Fred Gielow

83    Gene Mayer

82    Bob Betscha

81    “Bud” Fair                      20th   Anniv Yr of Chapter

80     Ev Burke


The 1970's

79    Ray Benoit

78    Lew DiStasi

77    Jerry Andersen

76    Rudy Veltre                   15th Anniv Yr of Chapter

75    Bob Chieffo

74    Joe Alber

73    Bob Royce

72    Tom Enger

Back to History

Congratulations to all these outstanding members!